Tags

, , , , ,

Clam Chowder

Clam Chowder

Ingredients:

1 bag frozen baby clams
4 strips bacon, chopped
1 onion, chopped
1 stalk celery, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
3 small red-skinned potatoes, cubed (no peeling)
3 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon each salt and pepper
1 cup low-sodium chicken or vegetable stock
1 cup cream
1 1/2 cup water
1 cup corn kernels
2 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped

Defrost the bag of clams and set aside. In a large saucepan, cook bacon over medium heat for 5 minutes; drain off fat.  Add onion, celery and garlic, stirring occasionally, until softened about 5 minutes. Add potatoes, flour, salt and pepper; stir until vegetables are coated.

Stir in stock and water; bring to simmer. Cover and cook, stirring, until potatoes are tender for 15 minutes

Add cream, corn and clams; heat until bubbling and hot, 3  minutes. Serve garnished with parsley.

*I got this recipe from my co-worker and she got it from Canadian Living magazine March 2004 issue. I changed some of the ingredients the original recipe requires 2 cans of baby clams but when the first time I made it w/the canned clams it had a very strong fishy smell. So I substitute it w/a bag of frozen baby clams. You can buy these in your local Chinese store in the frozen aisle.

The best would be fresh clams, I’m fortunate now that we live in New England and the clams are cheap. Never again I would use can or frozen clams. Instead of 2 cups of milk I changed it to 1 cup cream and 1 1/2 cup water. You still have  creamy taste and look but but it’s not too fattening. enJOY!!!

