Tags

, , ,

Really Good Banana Bread by Gail O’Grady

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cup very ripe banana, mashed (4 bananas)
1 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup canola oil
1/2 cup buttermilk
2 eggs
1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup semi-chocolate chunks (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 F. In a large bowl, combine bananas, sugar, oil, buttermilk and eggs. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt; add to banana mixture gradually.  Lastly add the chocolate chunks. Pour into a greased 9×5 inch pan. Bake for 45 minutes or until tester inserted in the center comes out clean.

* I got this recipe from my co-worker and this is the best moist banana bread I ever had. I did not have buttermilk on hand so I substitute it with 1/2 c. 2% milk with 1/2 tbsp. white vinegar or lemon. It worked out perfectly.

Originally the recipe did not ask for chocolate chunks but my love for chocolate always prevails. Chocolate chunks works the best because when you pour it in the pan it settles in the bottom. It makes a layer and a different texture to it. enJOY!