Tags

, , , , ,

Coconut Macaroons

Ingredients:

2/3 cup all-purpose flour
5 1/2 cup flaked coconut
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup toasted slivered almonds*
2 teaspoon ground flax seed*

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line cookie sheets with parchment paper or aluminum foil.

In a large bowl, stir together the flour, coconut, salt, ground flax seed and toasted almonds. Stir in the sweetened condensed milk and vanilla using your hands or a spatula until well blended. Use an ice cream scoop to drop dough onto the prepared cookie sheets. Cookies should be about golf ball size.

Bake for 12 to 15 minutes in the preheated oven, until coconut is toasted.

* I was craving for macaroons and I found a simple recipe from AllRecipes.com. I read the reviews and everybody liked it. They had few suggestions adding some ingredients and making it their own. I added 1/2 cup toasted slivered almonds and ground flax seed.
I add flax seed in almost everything I baked and it doesn’t change the taste and the good thing is it is good for you. A tip from my mom you can use ground flax seed as a thickening agent too. So when if you are making a cake or a simple gravy a couple of teaspoon of flax seed wouldn’t hurt. You can buy flax seed in any grocery store in the organic section. enJOY!
