Tags

, , , , ,

Chocolate Chip Muffin

Ingredients:

1/2 cup  unsalted butter, melted and cooled*
2 large eggs
1 cup  milk or cream
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
2/3 cups granulated white sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk chocolate or semisweet chocolate chips*
1 tablespoon ground flax seed*

Topping:

1 tablespoon granulated white sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Position rack in center of oven. Butter, or line with paper liners, 12 – 2 3/4 x 1 1/2 inch muffin cups.

In a large measuring cup or bowl whisk together the eggs, milk, and vanilla extract.

In another large bowl whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and ground flax seed. Stir in the dark chocolate chips. With a rubber spatula fold the wet ingredients, along with the melted butter, into the dry ingredients and stir only until the ingredients are combined. Do not over mix the batter or tough muffins will result.

Evenly fill the muffin cups with the batter, using two spoons or an ice cream scoop. In a small bowl combine the topping ingredients and then sprinkle a little topping on each muffin. Place in the oven and bake until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean, about 18 – 20 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool for about 5 minutes before removing from pan.

*My son was asking for me to make muffins and I found a simple recipe in one of my favorite food websites Joy of Baking. This muffin recipe is one of the best I’ve tried.  In this recipe you add the melted butter together w/wet and dry ingredients where in a traditional baking you usually cream the butter w/sugar and eggs. With my son’s help the muffin turned out perfect moist, and w/buttery taste and the sugar cinnamon topping is a nice touch. I did change a few ingredients that suits my taste. For the butter I used Smart Balance Buttery Sticks 50/50 butter and margarine w/Omega-3; I used dark chocolate instead of the semi-sweet’s then added ground flax seed of course. My son gobbled the muffins in minutes. enJOY!

Source: Joy Of  Baking

