Tags

, , , , ,

Lentil Soup

Ingredients:

1 onion, chopped
1/4 cup olive oil
2 carrots, diced
2 stalks celery, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 bay leaf
1 teaspoon dried basil
1 (14.5 ounce) can crushed tomatoes
2 cups dry lentils
*8 cups water (used 8 c. low-sodium chicken broth)
1/2 cup spinach, rinsed and thinly sliced
* 1 Polska Keilbasa sausage, cubed
*1/2 cup red pepper, diced
*2 tablespoons vinegar (used 2 tbsp. lemon)
*1 teaspoon cayenne
*1 tablespoon ground flax-seed
*1 teaspoon Sriracha  hot chilli sauce
salt to taste (optional)
ground black pepper to taste

In a large soup pot, heat oil over medium heat. Add onions, carrots, and celery; cook and stir until onion is tender. Stir in garlic, bay leaf, oregano, and basil; cook for 2 minutes.

Stir in lentils, and add chicken broth and tomatoes. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer for at least 1 hour. When ready to serve stir in cayenne pepper, Sriracha sauce, ground flax-seed, red pepper and spinach; cook until it wilts. Stir in lemon, and season to taste with salt and pepper, and more lemon if desired.

*At this time of the year you need a good hearty soup. Lentil is very easy to make, basically you can add any veggie from your fridge and it is a good way of cleaning up too before buying your groceries. I found this recipe in  my to-go-to website if I don’t have any idea what to cook for dinner allrecipes.com

I change and added a few ingredients instead of water I used low-sodium chicken broth. I don’t add anymore salt. I added red pepper and Keilbasa sausage. I used Hillshire Farms Polska Keilbasa my kids loved it.  To add a little kick I added cayenne and Sriracha  hot chilli sauce. I added ground flax-seed as almost all of my dishes I always add flax-seed it’s good for you and it doesn’t  change the flavor profile  at all. This is my winter comfort food…enJOY!!!

Source: allrecipes.com

