Tags

, , , , , ,

Kinilaw

Ingredients:

1/2 pound raw Yellowfin/Ahi Tuna, cubed (must be SUSHI GRADE)
1/4 cup tomatoes, chopped
1 small red onion/shallots, sliced
2 small radish, sliced
1 tablespoon ginger, minced
2 tablespoon green onion, chopped
2-3 tablespoon Pinakurat or cane vinegar
1 tablespoon Seasoned Rice Vinegar
Kosher salt to taste
lemon wedges
*2 peperoncini, minced

Mix all ingredients except the Pinakurat and rice vinegar. Season with salt then add the lemon and vinegar just before serving. Preferably serve cold.

*This is my mother’s version of Kinilaw. In the Philippines there are so many ways of making Kinilaw/Kilawin. In Cebu we add coconut milk, cane vinegar and calamansi. I omitted the coconut because I only can but it in a can here. I’m using Pinakurat because the taste makes a big difference and gives a kick  to it and adding peperoncini makes it even spicier . I’m so lucky that my local grocer sells sushi grade tuna. Every time I go to the grocery I always stop by the seafood department and check what is fresh. So one of them mentioned if you want to eat fish raw or make sushi they only recommend sushi grade.

What’s so surprising is the tuna is from the  Philippines. It is packed frozen-fresh so when you get it, it is still fresh. I’m happy that I still get something a taste from home. enJOY!!!

