Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Mussels, Clams and Shrimp in a Spicy Broth

Ingredients:

1/4 cup olive oil
5 garlic cloves, minced
1 bay leaf
1 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper
*1 jalapeño, minced
1 cup dry white wine
1 (28-ounce) can diced tomatoes
*1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
24 small Littleneck clams (about 2 1/2 pounds total), scrubbed
24 mussels (about 1 1/2 pounds total), debearded
20 large shrimp (about 1 pound), peeled, deveined, butterflied
*8 squid, cleaned & cut in rings
*8 sea scallops, cooked separate
1/2 cup torn fresh basil leaves (used fresh parsley)
Warm crusty bread

Heat the oil in a heavy large pot over medium heat. Add the garlic, bay leaf, jalapeño, and crushed red pepper. Saute until the garlic is tender, about 1 minute. Add the wine and bring to a boil. Add the tomatoes. Bring to a simmer. Simmer until the tomatoes begin to break down and the flavors blend, about 5 minutes. Add cayenne pepper.
Stir in the clams. Cover and cook for 5 minutes. Stir in the mussels. Cover and cook until the clams and mussels open, about 5 minutes longer.

Using a tongs, transfer the opened shellfish to serving bowls (discard any shellfish that do not open). Add the shrimp or squid rings and basil to the simmering tomato broth. Simmer until the shrimp or squid rings are just cooked through, about 1 1/2 minutes. Divide it with tomato broth among the bowls. Top with seared scallops. Serve with the warm bread.

*Originally I wanted to make Paella but I didn’t have all the ingredients. I found this recipe by Giada De Laurentis  from Food Network online.  I have tried a few of her recipes before and it all work out great. I added a few of my ingredients and omitted some. In the original recipe it ask for shrimp but I’m allergic to shrimp so I substitute it with squid and added also seared scallops. My husband and I loves spicy food, I toke it up a notch I added minced jalapeño and a 1 tbsp. cayenne pepper. I ran out of fresh basil so I used parsley. It was finger licking bowl….yum! enJOY!!!

Tip: When cooking with wine, you can use an expensive wine. I also keep a bottle of white and red just for cooking.

Click on the link on How to sear a perfect Scallops

Source: Food Network

