Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Seafood Pasta with Kale and Walnut Pesto

Ingredients:

1/2 pound whole wheat spaghetti
1/4-1/2 cup Homemade Kale and Walnut Pesto (as needed)
1 cup calamari rings
1/2 cup steamer clams, steamed and chopped
1 teaspoon cayenne
salt and pepper to taste

Cook pasta as directed. Set aside. Add the pesto in a hot pan, heat for few minutes then add calamari rings. Add pasta right after, toss and coat the pasta. Add cooked clams, cayenne, salt and pepper to taste. Serve immediately.

Kale and Walnut Pesto

Kale and Walnut Pesto:

1 bunch kale (about 2-3 cups chopped kale)
1 tsp. olive oil plus 1/2 -3/4 cup olive oil
1 cup walnuts
1/2 cup Pecorino, grated (used freshly grated Parmesan Cheese)
1 clove garlic
1/2-1 teaspoon red pepper flakes (used about 2 tsp.)
salt and pepper, to taste

Lightly steam the kale. Allow to cool and set aside while preparing the rest of the ingredients. In a skillet add the walnuts and the 1 tsp. olive oil. Toast the walnuts, stirring constantly until brown and fragrant. Place the steamed kale , the toasted walnuts, pecorino, red pepper flakes and  garlic clove in a bowl of a food processor fitted with a metal blade. Puree and slowly add the olive oil in a steady stream until the mixture is a smooth, creamy paste. Add additional olive oil for desired consistency. Stir in salt and pepper, to taste. The pesto can be frozen in an airtight container.

*Finally I made the Kale Pesto I’m so happy that I did…thanks to Maggies One Butt Kitchen…thank you for your inspiration. No more buying store bought pesto anymore. I bet the Kale Pesto is even better than the regular pesto but whichever it is homemade is always better. Its is KALE-Licious!!!!

I did a few changes with the ingredients, I just substitute what I had in the pantry. Mostly I eyeballed how much I need starting with the kale. I blanched the  kale for a few minutes until it turned bright green. I toasted the walnuts with out putting oil, they have their natural oils already. I didn’t have Pecorino so I substitute it with freshly grated Parmesan. I added more pepper flakes because we love it with a little kick.

For the Seafood Pasta, you can use any seafood you like. I love it with calamari rings and I just added the steamers, it was a leftover from the other night. My first memory with food that really struck me, I was maybe 17 years old. My sister brought to a small quaint restaurant and she ordered for me Calamari Pesto.  I didn’t hate it or love it but I though to myself, there are still a lot of things/food I haven’t tried or even knew.  Since then my journey and passion for food grew  led me to now, still learning and discovering everyday through my kitchen. enJOY!!!

Source: Maggies One Butt Kitchen (Kale and Walnut Pesto)

