Tags

, , , , ,

Spring Pea Soup

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 shallot, finely chopped
4 cups frozen peas (from 2 10-oz. packages)
2 cups low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth
1/4 cup half-and-half
Salt and pepper

Warm oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add shallot and cook, stirring, until softened, about 3 minutes. Add peas, broth and bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce heat to medium and cook until peas are very soft, about 5 minutes.

Remove from heat and let cool slightly, about 5 minutes. Working in batches if necessary, puree soup in a blender and return to saucepan. Stir in half-and-half and season generously with salt and pepper. Keep warm over medium-low heat. Ladle soup into bowls.

*A very simple soup and I can’t believe I haven’t tried to make it before. I’m really glad I did because it won my father’s heart and stomach of course. enJOY!!!

Source: All You Magazine Issue 7 July 27, 2012

