Tags

, , , , , ,

Fresh Black Bean and Corn Salad with Cilantro Vinaigrette

Ingredients:

2 16-ounce cans black beans, rinsed
2 cups fresh or frozen corn (if using frozen, rinse under cool water until thawed)
1 cup finely chopped multi-colored mini peppers, seeded
3 jalapeño halves, seeded, deveined, and finely chopped
1/2 red onion, finely chopped
1/4 cup green onion, chopped
1 cup lightly packed cilantro, rinsed
2 garlic cloves, smashed
3 jalapeño halves, seeded and deveined, and coarsely chopped
1/2 cup olive oil
1/4 cup fresh lime juice
1/2 teaspoon salt
2-4 tablespoons water


In a large mixing bowl, combine the black beans, corn, peppers, jalapeños, and red onion.

Place the cilantro, garlic, jalapeños, olive oil, lime juice, and salt in a blender. Puree until smooth, adding tablespoons of water if needed. If the vinaigrette is too thick, thin it out with more of the water, aiming for a thick, pourable consistency.
Pour vinaigrette over black beans, tossing to coat. Refrigerate an hour or more prior to serving. Serve chilled.

*I served this salad in my son’s birthday at the park and it hold up well. This will be my to-go-to picnic salad. I love the vinaigrette and I even made again to use it my regular salad. I never thought I would love cilantro that much but I do now. enJOY!!!

Source: She Runs, She Eats by a Running Foodie

