Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Embutido

Quinoa Embutido

Ingredients:

1.5 pounds ground pork, beef and veal
1/2 cup tricolor quinoa, cooked
1 1/2 cup homemade breadcrumbs
2 eggs, beaten
3/4 cup carrots, minced
3/4 cup onion, minced
3/4 cup red pepper, minced
1/4 cup jalapeño relish
1 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup tomato sauce
1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded
2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 tablespoon Herbox Gluten-free Chicken Bouillon
salt and pepper
3 hard-boiled eggs, quartered
2 Polish Kielbasa sausage, quartered and cut lengthwise

IMG_7689 IMG_7693IMG_7699

In a large glass bowl, mix all ingredients except the hard-boiled eggs and  kielbasa sausage. Incorporate all the ingredients, mix well.

IMG_7709Tip: I take a tablespoon of the mixture and cook it in a pan. In that way I would know if I needed  more seasoning. I strongly recommend that you would do this so you can adjust to your taste.

Place the meat mixture in an aluminum foil and flatten it. It should be 4-5 inches by 8 inches . Put the sliced hard-boiled eggs and kielbasa sausage alternately int he middle of the mixture.

Roll the foil away from you, forming like a log keeping the egg and sausage in the middle. Lock the each side tightly.

In a 300F oven place a shallow pan with water and a wire rack on the pan. Place your embutido on top of the wire rack and cook it for 1 hour.
Set it aside  for a 30 minutes before placing it in the refrigerator. Slice and serve as an hor d’oeuvres or main dish.

IMG_7721IMG_7715

*I made my own version of Embutido. It is a Filipino-style meatloaf. We usually make this for special occasions like the holidays. It was perfect for our New Year’s Eve Potluck celebration with friends.
In this I added quinoa, it is a good binder for meatloaf or meatballs. Instead of sweet relish I used the jalapeño relish to give it a little kick; I used dried cranberries instead of raisins because I find raisins too sweet. I added cayenne to spice things up and used kielbasa sausage instead of vienna sausage. I prefer the meaty texture of the polish sausage and just simply something different. enJOY!!!

Click on the links:

Cooking Quinoa (Keen-wa)

Cooking a Perfect Hard Boiled-Eggs

