Tags

, , , , ,

Soğan Salatası (Onion Salad)

Soğan Salatası (Onion Salad)

Ingredients:

1 large yellow onion
Some flat leaf parsley
1 teaspoon sumac
1/4 teaspoon paprika
Juice of half a lemon
Coarsely-ground salt

IMG_7414 IMG_7401Chop the parsley. Cut the onion into thin slices.

*Tip: If you don’t like the bite of the onion and after taste. Cut the onion and soak the onion in cold water for 30 minutes to an hour. Drain and pat dry.

Put the onions in a mixing bowl, add the salt and mix well. Let the salt draw out the natural juices of the onion. I left the onions in the salt for a few hours.

Put the onion in a colander to drain the juice. The onions were quite salty so I rinsed them in cold water. Squeeze the onions as dry as possible. Blot them dry with paper towels.

Add the chopped parsley, sumac, and paprika to the onions and mix together.

Prior to serving, squeeze the lemon juice over the onions and mix well.

IMG_7399

*A good friend gave me spices from Syria and sumac was one of them. I found a simple salad recipe. For those who doesn’t like to eat raw onion,  I found a great tip form one of the cookbooks I was reading to soak it in cold water. Sumac is something new for and I’m very excited what else can I use it for. Like I always say we travel through our palate  and I can’t wait  where it’s going to take me next. enJOY!!!

Source: Kits Chow

