Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Pulled Pork Buns

Pulled Pork Buns

Ingredients for the Buns:

1 1/4 cup milk
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup melted butter
2 teaspoons active dry yeast
1 egg
1 teaspoon salt
3 1/2-4 cups plain flour (used 3 1/2 cups flour)
1 egg yolk for glazing

Heat the milk until lukewarm. Pour into a large mixing bowl and mix in the melted butter, sugar and yeast. Leave for 15 minutes.

IMG_8248Stir in the egg and salt to the yeast mixture. Gradually add the flour while mixing until a medium soft dough is obtained. You may not need to add the full amount of flour. Knead until smooth and elastic. Place in a greased bowl, cover and leave to rise in a warm place until double in bulk (about 1 1/2 hours).
IMG_8254
Prepare the filling.
IMG_8288Punch down the dough and make approximately 50 gm. balls. Flatten each piece and fill with a heaping tablespoonful of filling. Gather the edges and seal well. Put on a cupcake case, sealed side down. Arrange on  a baking tray and cover loosely. Leave to rise until again double in bulk.

Glaze the tops with egg yolk and bake in a preheated 350° F / 180° C oven for 15 to 20 minutes until puffed up and browned.

For the Pulled Pork Filling:

3 cup Pulled Pork (Mama’s Pulled Pork)
1 1/4 cup water
2 1/2 tablespoons sherry
5 tablespoons brown sugar (used 3 tablespoons only)
1 1/2 tablespoons oyster sauce
1 1/2 tablespoons sesame oil
1 1/2 tablespoons corn flour plus 2 tablespoons water (used cornstarch)
*2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
*2 stalk green onion, chopped

IMG_8228Put the pulled pork and the water in a pan and bring to a boil. Add the sherry, sugar and oyster sauce. Simmer for five minutes. Mix the cornstarch with the water and add to the pan while stirring to thicken the sauce. Add the sesame oil. Simmer for 2 minutes.

IMG_8272 IMG_8280 IMG_8282Transfer to a bowl, leave to cool at room temperature, then refrigerate to cool and set. Use to fill the buns.

IMG_8262 IMG_8300 IMG_8296 IMG_8333*I still have pulled pork leftovers…thinking…thinking…then I started goggling (one of the best tools ever). I stumbled upon this blog Adora’s Box, Asado Buns. When I saw it it just remind me of home and my second home. It is very common in the Philippines for a snack for a bun with meat or siopao, a steam bun. When I migrated to Canada and moved in to my husband place, I found a Chinese bakery just a walking distance from our place. But I found out if you don’t come early everything is gone. So I guess when they say an early riser get’s the big fish. I guess in a way it’s my time to real in the big fish and try it
With my mom’s pulled pork who can go wrong. The best part is it’s my first try to making bread and it turned way better than I expected. My love for spicy food so I added cayenne, and green onion it turned to be a sweet and spicy bun. enJOY!!!

Source: Adora’s Box

