Tags

, , , , , , ,

Sweet & Spicy Sweet Pepper Relish

Sweet & Spicy Sweet Pepper Relish

Ingredients:

1 medium onion, thinly sliced
4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
1 2-inches ginger, julienne
2 cups chayote, shredded
2 cups carrots, shredded
1 cups sweet peppers (red, yellow, orange) julienne
4 serrano chilli, julienne
1 cup mango, shredded
1 cup apple cider vinegar
2 tablespoon brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

IMG_8919
Mix the vinegar and brown sugar. Set aside.

IMG_8932

IMG_8928Slice and shred the vegetables. Boil 5-6 cups of water, add onion, garlic and ginger.  Return to boil then add all the vegetables except the mango. Let it boil for 1 minute and then turn off and let it stay for 1 more  minute. Drain the water and add the mango. Let it cool for 15 minutes.
IMG_8933 IMG_8939Using a dish cloth squeeze out the water from the vegetables. Then add vinegar mixture. Using a wooden spoon press down to soak up the vinegar mixture. Keep it the fridge for 3-4 hours before serving.
IMG_8954 IMG_8958 IMG_8947*I got this recipe from my mom. I just added a few of twist of my own and of course what I have in the pantry. I bought 2 pounds of sweet peppers and relish came to mind and my mom always makes it and I just eat. I brought it to a friend’s house and they have been asking for the recipe. Finally ask my mom via phone and made it. It’s good with tacos, meat, salad and on everything. enJOY!!!

