Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Siu Mai

Siu Mai

Ingredients:

6 whole leaves plus 1 packed cup finely chopped napa cabbage
24 frozen peas, thawed
1 teaspoon plus 1 tablespoon cornstarch
3⁄4 teaspoon salt
*1 1/2 pounds ground pork
2 tablespoons shaoxing jiu (Chinese rice wine)
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 1⁄2 tablespoon sesame oil
1 tbsp. finely chopped ginger
1⁄4 teaspoon sugar
*1 cup carrots, finely chopped
*1/2 cup dried black mushrooms,soak & chopped
2 scallion, finely chopped
Pinch of freshly ground black pepper (used white pepper)
24 round thin 3 1⁄2″ Hong Kong-style dumpling wrappers (used Nasoya wonton wrapper)
*egg white, brush the around the edge to seal it

IMG_9666 IMG_9672Line 3 stacking 10″ bamboo steamers with napa cabbage leaves; set aside. Toss peas with 1 tsp. cornstarch; set aside. Combine chopped cabbage and 1⁄2 tsp. salt in a bowl; set aside to let rest for 5 minutes. Squeeze cabbage dry; transfer to a large bowl. Stir together remaining cornstarch with 3 tbsp. water; add to cabbage with remaining salt, pork, rice wine, soy sauce, sesame oil, ginger, sugar, scallions, and pepper. Stir filling mixture until it reaches a paste like consistency.

IMG_9675 IMG_9677

IMG_9680 IMG_9683Lay 1 wrapper across the flattened palm of one hand. Put 1 tbsp. filling in center of wrapper. Close fingers around wrapper, gathering up edges, to form a “basket” with loosely pleated sides. Gently squeeze sides, pressing in the pleats to seal them. Gently drop dumpling on a flat surface to flatten the bottom. Work fingers gently around the edges to even out its shape. Brush the edge with egg whites to seal it. Use a knife to pat down any filling that protrudes above top of wrapper. Top with 1 pea and put in one of the steamers.

IMG_9697 IMG_9694*I was craving for dimsum but sadly to say we don’t have a dimsum place in my area. But I have been wanting to making Siu Mai and finally I did it. I was so happy with the result. In the original recipe it ask for shrimp but since I’m allergic to shrimp I omitted it. I added dried black mushrooms and carrots instead of water chestnuts. I added more ground pork too. For my next attempt I will substitute the shrimp with bay scallops…I can’t wait to make it again. enJOY!!!

Source: Saveur

