Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Bulalo (Beef Bone Marrow and Vegetable Soup)

Bulalo (Beef Bone Marrow and Vegetable Soup)

Ingredients:

2 pounds bone marrow with meat (trim fat as much as possible)
1 onion, quartered
3 garlic cloves
1 tablespoon peppercorns
2 stalks celery, chopped
1/2 meduim kabocha, diced
okra, cleaned and trimmed
2 cups kale, chopped
salt and pepper to taste

IMG_9312 IMG_9324

In a large pot boil water and add the beef marrow. Return to boil then discard the water. Repeat it twice or more to have a clear broth. Dump the water and rinse the pot.

IMG_9317In a clean pot or dutch oven add the meat, onion, peppercorn, garlic, and celery. Add water just enough to cover the meat.  Bring to boil and let it simmer for 2-4 hours in low heat. Add kabocha, okra, and kale. Season with salt and pepper and let it simmer for 20-30 minutes, until the meat is tender but don’t over cook the veggies.

IMG_9357 IMG_9372*I miss Bulalo, it is a typical Filipino soup enjoyed by many. I usually make this when it is rainy and I feel homesick. I just tweaked it a little bit and make my version of it.  My choice of veggies are celery, kabocha, okra and kale. It was perfect and not too heavy…just the way I like. enJOY!!!

