Tags

, , , , , , ,

Rhubarb and Strawberry Cupcakes

Rhubarb and Strawberry Cupcakes

Ingredients:

1/2 cup rhubarb and strawberry puree (directions follow)
1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder pinch salt
*1 tablespoon ground flaxseed
1/4 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 eggs

IMG_0835Preheat oven to 350ºF. Prepare cupcake pan with liners.

Mix together the flour, baking powder,salt, and ground flaxseed and set aside. In a separate bowl combine the butter and sugar and beat until light and fluffy.

IMG_0840Add eggs, milk, vanilla, and rhubarb puree and mix. Then add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until combined. Pour into cupcake liners and bake for 20-25 minutes (until a toothpick comes out clean). Cool on a wire rack. Frost when completely cool.

IMG_0903Rhubarb Frosting:

1/2 cup butter softened
1/2 cup cooked rhubarb puree, cooled (directions follow)
5-6 cups powdered sugar 1/2 tsp vanilla

Beat together butter, rhubarb puree, and vanilla. Gradually add the powdered sugar until it reaches your desired consistency. Then frost the cooled cupcakes.

I use a Wilton 1M tip to get the swirled frosting on top of my cupcakes.

IMG_0918Rhubarb Puree:

4 cups of fresh or frozen rhubarb (used 2 1/2 cup fresh rhubarb & 1 1/2 cup strawberries)

Thaw rhubarb if necessary. Blend rhubarb and strawberry in blender or food processor adding water if necessary. You should have about 2 cups of puree.

IMG_0836Then simmer the rhubarb puree over low heat until it is reduced by half.

IMG_0838It should make about 1 cup. You will use half in the cupcake batter and half in the frosting.

IMG_0913

My two eager helpers

IMG_0910

My Sous Chef Ethan

IMG_0907 IMG_0925*I am very lucky to get another preview from our CSA and guess what was in the bag…rhubarb. I didn’t know that rhubarb was considered as vegetable and then a fruit. Mainly it is used to make desserts  I have never tried rhubarb and every time I see it in the grocery I always tell myself that I have to try it someday. Little did I know that its good for cupcakes too. enJOY!!

Source: Sugar & Spice All Things Iced

