Tags

, , , , , , ,

Guiso de Puerco con Chile Rojo

Guiso de Puerco con Chile Rojo

Ingredients:

2-1/4 lb pork shoulder, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
2 cups of water
2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon oregano
3 cloves garlic, peeled
6 dried New Mexico Red Chile Pods, stemmed and seeded (used dried Ancho Chile)
2 dried guajillo chile pods, stemmed and seeded
2 dried chipotle chile pods, stemmed (used Pasilla Chile)
*3 dried chile pequiño
*1 tablespoon brown sugar
IMG_7439IMG_7447
Season the pork with salt and place in a pan small enough to fill the cubes 2 layers deep. I use a 3 qt dutch oven. Add 1/4 cup of water.

Cover tightly and place over low heat. After about 5 – 10 minutes, remove the cover and stir the meat to keep it from sticking. Replace cover and continue to cook over low for approximately 45 minutes. Cooking the pork over low heat tenderizes the meat and will cause the meat to release its liquids so the meat slowly braises. When finished you should have 1 cup of very flavorful broth. Strain the broth off the meat and reserve. Return the meat to the pot, cover and place in a warm place.

Place chiles and garlic in the blender. Add the broth from the meat to enough water to make 3 cups of liquid. Pour into blender. Add the oregano and the cumin.

Turn the blender on low and increase the speed to its highest setting and blend the chiles for 3 minutes until completely pureed.

Now, we have a Vitamix blender which will puree toothpicks. As a result, I made this sauce a little thicker, only using 2 cups of liquid. Also, because of the Vitamix, we do not strain the mixture. If you are using a typical household blender, you may want to remove the skins, So, strain the sauce at this point and press the skins to ensure you get all of the pulp leaving only the skins behind. If the sauce is too thick to strain, thin it with some water as you can reduce it once you add it to the meat and reheat. Once you have the red sauce how you like it, add the sauce to the pot.

Return pot to the stove and bring to a simmer. Add brown sugar. Simmer until the sauce has thickened to your desired consistency.
IMG_7452IMG_7455
*I got this recipe from one of the blogs I follow. A very knowledgeable great cook. He shows different cooking techniques, not your ordinary cook at all. I kind substitute some ingredients and added some. It turned out to be a very good. The chiles I used was given to me from a good friend of mine who just recently traveled from Mexico. The chile pequiño was given to me from another food blogger from Texas. So I guess this how authentic as I can get. I didn’t have Vitamix but the blender I used was powerful one so I didn’t have to strain like what Richard suggested. The first time I tasted it was a bit bitter but I added brown sugar and simmered it. All the flavors develop to a great Red Chile Pork Stew. I paired it with buttery Corn Grits. Thank you Richard for sharing your recipe and looking forward for more. enJOY!!!  

Source: REM Cooks